It can be a bit tricky for Celiacs to figure out which food to take or not. So, in this article, we would like to provide adequate information on this.
Why Celiacs cannot eat everything?
Do you know what are the causes of celiac disease? It is usually triggered due to the intake of a protein called gluten. A protein that is found in wheat, barley, and rye. Even a small amount of gluten can trigger this problem. There is yet no medication for it. But its symptoms can be prevented by changing the diet. If gluten is removed from the diet, the intestine starts to heal. If this disease is not diagnosed it can cause digestive issues, lymphoma, and some rare type of intestinal cancer. The earlier it is diagnosed the faster the healing process. People with celiac might experience diarrhea, bloating, gas, anemia, and also growth issues.
Which food ingredients should Celiacs avoid?
Here are some foods gluten celiac patients should avoid at all costs:
- Wheat starch
- Brewer’s yeast
If you are a celiac, take care that you do not eat any food item which contains these ingredients. It can be difficult at first. But once you’ve figured it out once, you can plan your meals accordingly with dishes that are devoid of these.
Which are the celiac disease foods to avoid?
Besides being careful of the ingredients, just ensure you do not go for any of these as they contain gluten, and you can be allergic to them:
- Bread, cereals
- Desserts, soups
- Crackers, flour tortillas
- French fries, Pasta
- Sauces, soups
- Candy bars, drink mixers
What should Celiacs take? Celiacs might be deficient in some vitamins like B12, calcium, and vitamin D. But the absence of zinc, folic acid, and carnitine can take its place in producing energy. Chances of malfunction are huge, so a proper diet with the absence of such allergic proteins should be acknowledged. Usually, healthy foods are gluten-free like fruits, vegetables, legumes, animal protein, nuts, and seeds. So, you can easily include them in your diet.